Discover Pogonisian Villages

CSC_0330-bb_600 edited-1

Pogoni is in the northwest of the prefecture of Ioannina extends to 701 square meters. Km. and consists of the following villages: Agia Marina, Agios Kosmas, Upper Ravenna, Argyrochori, Areti, Vassiliko, Vissani, Vrontismeni, Geroplatanos, Delvinaki, Dimokori, Dolo, Doliana, Psilokastro, Drymades, Ieromnimon, Kakolakkos, Kalpaki Kastaniani, Katarraktes, Lower Merope, Lower Ravenna, Kerasovo, Kefalovriso, Kouklioi, Krioneri,Ktismata, Lavdani, Limni, Mazaraki, Mavropoulo, Chrysodouli, Merope, Negrades,  Xirovalto, Palaiopyrgos, Parakalamos, Peristeri, Pontikates, Pogoniani, Repetisti, Roupsia, Sitaria, Stafroskiadi, Stratinista, Teriachi, Faraggi, Chrysorrachi, Haravgi, and Oreokastro.

It has a total of 11.092 inhabitants originated from the merger of the municipalities Kapodistrias Upper Pogoni, Delvinaki, Kalpaki, Upper Kalama and communities Pogoniani and Lavdani.


Visitors are charmed by the green landscape, with hills and canyons. The villages are almost indistinguishable because of the dense vegetation. Each of the Pogonisian villages has something different for visitors. The tourist development of the area is absent, which is why one has the feeling that goes back in time. The villages combine nature with history, old churches, stone bridges, traditional settlements with exquisite architecture. Unlike other areas of Epirus Pogoni shows no uniformity in its settlements. Each exploration is a new surprise. The architectural village style combines the elements of stone (mostly gray) and wood deriving from the  agricultural and livestock development of the area. The mansions are mainly two floored with patios surrounded by high stone fences with large wooden, double gates and witness the economic boom experienced once in Pogoni.

Spread the word about Pogoni...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Pin on Pinterest
Email this to someone
Print this page